How season ending injury took it’s Toll on Ben

Tranmere forward Ben Tollitt has revealed he cried himself to sleep after finding out he had been ruled out for the rest of the season.

The 22-year old injured his knee ligaments during their win over Boreham Wood last night and went under the knife earlier this week.

He could be back running before the end of the campaign, but will not take any part as Micky Mellon’s side target top spot.

And he admits that left him utterly devastated.

“I cried a lot,” he said.

“I cried and then I slept for about three hours on the Wednesday, cried a bit more and slept for about five hours on Thursday.

“It felt like all I had done had been for nothing. It probably still does feel like that now.

“You’ve just got to use that as fuel and anger in the gym sessions that I’ll be doing to come back a better athlete.

“But of course they can still get promoted without me!

“They’ve just beaten Barrow 5-1! They’re a team who are around the play-offs and fighting for that.

“We’ve got quality in the team. There’s no worries there.”

It was innocuous looking challenge that caused the injury, with Tollitt even taking a corner before he eventually hobbled off.

His absence could be a big one for Tranmere, who have also lost Jack Dunn, James Wallace and Jake Kirby over the last couple of weeks.

But Tollitt is hoping by training right, he can cut down his enforced lay off.

“They’re saying I’ll be out for six months,” he continued.

“That takes me to the end of August, which is 24 weeks after my operation.

“Hopefully, if I eat well and train well, I can shave a few weeks off that.

“I’ll be running by the end of May and be available for selection for the beginning of the season.”

It is a measure of just how big an impact Tollitt has made since moving to Tranmere that messages have poured in from fans.

He has scored seven goals in just 18 appearances since arriving at Prenton Park, originally on loan from Portsmouth back in September.

Three months later, fans were left delighted when he penned a permanent deal until the end of the 2018/19 season.

And now he is desperate to repay the faith shown in him, with one supporter even handing over a “Get Well Soon” card during that thumping FA Trophy win over Barrow.

“It’s been overwhelming,” he added.

“Some of the things people have been saying has made me fill up a bit more.

“I can’t say anything but thanks for the messages and thanks for what you’ve done for me this season.”

Leave a Reply

