Gnanduillet Ready To Fire Tranmere To Safety

Armand Gnanduillet is already a popular figure on the terraces at Prenton Park after he twice smashed home to end Tranmere’s month long goal drought.

And the gangly Frenchman says he’s now targeting plenty more goals as he looks to fire Rovers away from the relegation zone during his month loan stay from Chesterfield.

The 22-year old, who arrived in England in 2013 and has represented the Ivory Coast at under-20 level has not made a habit of scoring in 2014.

And that meant his first goals since January tasted all the more sweeter.

“I’m happy to score, but I prefer we put in a great performance today,” he said.

“The lads were unbelievable and I hope we keep going like that.

“Two years ago, I scored my firstly goal for Chesterfield against Wimbledon, so I like scoring against them!

“They’re my first goals this season.

“I’m happy to score them with Tranmere because I think this team needs that.

“I think I can help this team. We’re bottom of the league yes, but I think we can do better than that.

“We will do so, I’m confident of that.

“I had a good opportunity to come here with Micky Adams.

“I played against Port Vale this year, my first start in League One, and Micky was the gaffer.

“I did well on the pitch. We won 2-1 and I got one assist.

“After that, Paul Cook told me to go and get some minutes on the pitch. He wanted me to play football.

“I know a little bit through English football that Tranmere is a good club, so if I can help the boys and this club to be in a better place in the table, why not?”

The striker, who can count Le Harve amongst his former clubs, was the first player Micky Adams turned to after being appointed Tranmere’s manager earlier this month.

He says he is settling in well to life at Prenton Park after a whirlwind week that saw him make his debut in the 0-0 draw against Mansfield.

And although he is loving life on the Wirral, there is one thing he cannot quite get his head around.

“It’s a very, very friendly club,” he added.

“It’s just, when they speak, it’s a little bit hard to understand!”

Leave a Reply

