McMahon: Errors To Blame For Orient Defeat

An emotional John McMahon laid the blame firmly with Tranmere’s players as they slipped back into the League One relegation zone with just one game to go.

Rovers are now one point from safety in the division, but their fate lies out of their hands after a 2-0 defeat to high-flying Leyton Orient.

And caretaker boss McMahon was left frustrated with numerous defensive errors that saw them slide closer to League Two.

“It’s just galling really, that we’ve suffered another defeat,” he said.

“From what I think and from what I’ve seen through my rose coloured glasses, it was a good performance.

“I thought second half we absolutely dominated the game.”

“But I can’t legislate for mistakes like that. I can set teams up. I can looks at systems and shapes.

“What I can’t do is go out there and stop silly mistakes from happening.

“We haven’t dealt with a lot of things throughout the season, and that’s why we’re in the position we’re in.

“We can play all the attractive football you like, create chances which I thought we did, but when you can’t do the simple things well defensively, you’re going to suffer.”

The bare statistic that Rovers have now gone four games without a win is bad enough for most Tranmere fans, especially at such a crucial stage of the season.

But the fact they have failed to score in each of those games, even with 20-goal man Ryan Lowe in their starting line up, is another thing that is concerning McMahon.

“It’s worrying,” he continued.

“If you don’t score goals, you’re never going to win football matches.

“I think we’re creating chances, so that’s less worrying. It’s actually being in the right positions and being clinical to take those chances.

“The fans have been fantastic again. I can’t knock them.

“They gave everything they’ve got as always. I’m never going to criticise spectators. They pay their money, they’re entitled to moan.

“If they’re going to do any moaning, let it be at me and not the players, because that’s the last thing they need.

“I can take the moaning. It doesn’t bother me. But it might affect the players, and what we can’t do is let it affect the players.

“Yes we need to win now. It’s out of our hands. But that’s the way it is.”

Leave a Reply

