Daily Mirror World Darts Trophy: Sherrock Rocks In Blackpool

Teenage sensation Fallon Sherrock tore up the Blackpool Tower ballroom by waltzing her way to victory over Paula Jacklin last night.

The 19-year old clinched the Women’s British Classic last year and made her World Championship debut only last month.

But the youngster from Buckinghamshire blasted past Jacklin 4-2 with a three-dart average of 62.

She faces Aileen De Graaf in the next round of the Daily Mirror World Trophy after the Dane beat Rachna David 4-2.

Sherrock admitted: “I haven’t got any expectations but I could win it, anyone could!”

She was backed by a vocal Blackpool crowd and rather than shrinking in the limelight, she loved being on the stage.

“I loved the crowds, I thrive on the attention,” she added.

In the men’s event, Dave Prins secured a 6-5 victory over Glen Durrant in one of the stand out games of the night.

Elsewhere, Rick Hofstra saw off Madras Razma 6-3 earlier in the evening with Jeffrey De Graaf – no relation to Aileen – beat Michael Haynes in his first-round match.

But it was Sherrock who was the start of the night and she reckons having current world No.1 Deta Hedman as her mentor is the key to her success.

“Deta has told me how to be composed when I’m throwing my darts and taught me all the best exit shots,” she continued.

Meanwhile, Richie George failed to follow in the footsteps of his famous dad as he was dumped out.

Bobby was on hand to watch his son lose 6-3 to James Wilson.

And Richie said: “I didn’t start early enough – the first two legs were a killer.

“Fair play to James. I didn’t take me chances.”

Leave a Reply

