Crewe 1-1 Shrewsbury: Taylor’s Goal Premonition

Mystic Shrewsbury winger Jon Taylor insists he knew he was going to score after rescuing a point for Shrewsbury at Crewe.

The winger, 23, sprinted onto a hopeful long ball to fire home his first goal since September after 55-minutes.

And he reckons there is now more to come after returning from a spell on the sidelines.

“I had a feeling I was going to score,” he said.

“I think I might have needed the injury, because leading up to games, I didn’t have as much confidence, maybe because I wasn’t scoring as much.

“But I’ve come back and I want it more than anything.

“I know I can play well. I know I can work hard for the team.
“I just want that energy back from when I first broke into the team, and I think I’ve got it.”

Crewe had taken the lead on 19-minutes when Tom Hitchcock nodded home Chuks Aneke’s knock down after good work be Mesca Bangna.

But Shrewsbury battered the Alex goal, with Luke Summerfield, Gozie Ugwu and Taylor coming close.

After the break, George Evans forced a smart save out of Chris Weale for the hosts before Taylor thumped home to level.

Aneke then missed a hat-trick of chances for Crewe as they looked to regain their lead.

But he failed to find the target with any, and Town should have made them pay and nicked the points, but a tired miss-kick from Tom Eaves when one-on-one saw a golden opportunity in injury time go begging.

Alex boss Steve Davis meanwhile was unhappy at the performance of referee Brendan Malone.

“There were a lot of fouls, a lot of nudges, which weren’t picked up by the officials,” he said.

“I think I say that every week – I must sound like a record.”

Leave a Reply

