Maddison Raring To Go In Cheshire International

There’s just days to go before the Cheshire International Boccia Championships kick off in Wigan, and BC3 star Lee Maddison is itching to get going.

The tournament, which takes place at the Robin Park Arena, begins on Saturday 27th July.

Maddison will be competing alongside world class talent from Sweden, Czech Republic, Wales and Scotland.

And he believes it’s an honour to be selected to take part.

“I can’t wait for the competition to start,” he said.

“To be competing against some of the best players in the world – it’s an honour.

“For me, it’s one of the best tournaments I’ve played in.

“I know it’s the biggest on the Boccia England calendar.”

Born in County Durham, Maddison has represented England twice in the last few months.

Most notably, he finished second in the Norway Invitational, one place ahead of Chris Jackson who he will partner in the BC3 mixed pairs event in Wigan.

Since then, Maddison has been working on his game as he builds up to the tournament.

And he now feels ready to compete.

“The preparation has been good,” he continued.

“We’ve had one camp since the pairings were announced and we’ve got another this weekend.

“As well as that, Chris and I have been meeting up to get some vital extra training in.

“In Norway, it was good to have a week of training and competition.

“I came away with plenty of fresh ideas.

“I’ve made a few little adjustments to my equipment, which has helped, and I’ve changed my training a bit.

“As a result, I can see a difference.”

Despite how well training has gone, the Middlesbrough fan isn’t making any predictions as to where he and Jackson will finish in the tournament.

But he believes that the pairing have what it takes to reach at least the last eight of the tournament.

“I don’t really like to say where I think we’ll get,” he added.

“But if we play like we know we can, I would say quarter or semi finals.

“I would expect to be playing in the knockouts, and once you get there anything could happen.”

Entry to the Cheshire International Boccia Championships is free. For more information, visit https://bocciaengland.org.uk/events/

Leave a Reply

